webinar register page

Spotlight on the EU’s New Sustainability Measures
4:00 – 4:30 pm BST
11:00 – 11:30 am ET
10:00 – 10:30 am CT
8:00 – 8:30 am PT

The EU adopted its new “circular economy” package on 30 March, 2022. The legislative package will have a big impact on many businesses and other product stakeholders. It aims to further the EU’s circular economy strategy and establish a more sustainable production and consumption model. The flagship "Sustainable Products Initiative" contains proposals to make products “greener by design” and will apply to a wide range of consumer goods produced and imported into the EU. Textiles are another hot topic, with the “Strategy for Sustainable and Circular Textiles” proposing new design requirements for textiles and paving the way for future legislation of extended producer responsibility. Another proposal to update consumer rules “empowering consumers for the green transition” looks to tackle generic environmental claims used in marketing and sustainability labelling.

In this rapid fire 30-minute webinar, the Cooley products team will provide an overview of the new legislative proposals and potential challenges that they may face – hot off the press. We will share our take on what to expect from the Circular Economy Package II, which is due to be adopted on 20 July, 2022.

Speakers
• Harriet Jones – Moderator – Associate, Cooley
• Emma Bichet – Sustainable Products Initiative – Special Counsel, Cooley
• Tania Buckthorp – Textiles – Associate, Cooley
• Fergal Duggan – Circular Economy Package II – Associate, Cooley
• Edward Turtle – Consumer Law Initiative – Associate, Cooley

00:29:00

* Required information
Loading